Takamina’s a Theater Girl! 19th Single Jankenpon Tournament Results!!!

Would have posted this earlier but I had work and classes all day, plus I just found out Takamina’s exact ranking now… damn life getting in the way of AKB48, haha.

After what seems like months of waiting, the moment that everyone has been anticipating and had Stage48 members on the edge of their seats at 5:00 this morning has finally arrived – The 19th single Jankenpon Tournament! Here are the results:

Takamina lost in the first round and ended up in Theater Girls.

I’m not going to lie, I was immensely opposed to the idea of the Janken Tournament when it was first announced. Not only was I concerned that Takamina may not make it to senbatsu, but I felt the whole idea was very hypocritcal. Aki-P has said that there’s a certain “face” to AKB48, aka the girls who usually make it to senbatsu, so the Janken tournament was a total contradiction. I understood the whole idea of giving the other girls a chance and trying to prove that AKB can release an amazing single even without the usual senbatsu line-up, but I didn’t like the decision behind it. I feel that the girls who don’t get chosen for senbatsu yet are still very talented, for example Sato Natsuki, Matsuda Yuka, and as of late Akimoto Sayaka, and that they deserve to be pulled out of the back and brought into the lime light because their talents are finally recognized, not through some random rock, paper, scizzors tournament.

However, not that the event has come and gone and I had plenty of time to think it over, the event wasn’t such a bad idea. One reason I was so strongly opposed in the beginning was for the obvious: the self fangirl kicked in and I didn’t like the idea of Takamina not being in senbatsu. Now please, don’t misinterpret this as me putting Takamina on a pedastil, for that is not the case at all. Since Takamina is my oshimen and has been in senbatsu for every AKB48 single to date, I have grown accustomed to her being that way and sharing the center position with Acchan (plus, is it so wrong of me to want my oshimen to be in senbatsu?). However, as I thought about it, in the end I really didn’t care about where Takamina ended up. I know she’s talented and that she loves AKB48 with all her heart, and given her personality I realized that Takamina probably didn’t even care where she ended up (and see, I think I was right! I mean. c’mon look at her, how awesome is she???). So with that thought in mind, I decided to think the same. Furthermore I realized it was a bit selfish of me to want Takamina to be in senbatsu when she’s been in it for every single to date – I can’t help it, I didn’t want Takamina to ruin her streak. I like routines and breaking away from them makes me purse my lips in disappointment (much like how Yuko was voted Number 1 in the senbatsu election and was center for Heavy Rotation).

The super gorgeous, super awesome Sato Natsuki (If you're thinking "*gasp* A non-Takamina picture in a Takamina blog?!" just bear with me for this once and read the following rant)

But yes, once I came to that resolution and realized I would be content with whatever result Takamina got, I decided to put my wishes and prayers to good use and focus on cheering on (in addition to Takamina), and other one of my top 5 oshimen: Sato Natsuki. I don’t think many people know or realize just how much I adore Natsuki (I have RSL to thank for that). Despite being pushed aside in favor of the more popular girls, I feel that Natsuki is one of the most talented girls in AKB48, and should, deserves, to be regarded as such. If you want to know why I think so just listen to any song she sings in – her voice is unbelieveably powerful and gorgeous. She also hasn’t been in senbatsu since Keibetsu Shiteita Aijou (the only single she made senbatsu for), so I was really rooting for her. I realized that it wouldn’t bother me if Takamina, Miichan, and Haruna didn’t make it into senbatsu because they always get to be in senbatsu, but it would have bothered me greatly if Natsuki didn’t. She’s so talented and deserves to be regarded as an amazing singer and idol, so I’ve very very very very very happy she made it to #7 in senbatsu – Lucky Seven! ^^

I’m also rather pleased with Takamina’s result in Theater Girls – I like the whole concept behind them, plus I like how for the most part the usual senbatsu line-up got mixed around, which will no doubt lead to an all-around interesting single. Takamina’s also in Theater Girls with Miichan and Yuko, plus Yukirin and Tomochin – it’s a great mix, and it has me looking forward to each and every track of the single. Too bad for me I don’t know anything about Uchida Mayumi, the girl who got center, but I’m sure she deserves the chance at the position and it should be fun and interesting to see.

One Response

  1. YAY.

Leave a Reply

